Winter Light (1962)

The Winter Light is the second in a trilogy of dramas by acclaimed Swedish director Ingmar Bergman that explores religious faith and doubts in a visceral, visual, and provocative manner. The first, Through a Glass Darkly, was an international success and heralded this new phase in the director’s career. This compelling drama is set within […]

The Hour of the Wolf (1968), Ingmar Bergman

Hour of the Wolf (Swedish: Vargtimmen) is a 1968 Swedish psychological horror film starring Max von Sydow and Liv Ullmann. It is Ingmar Bergman’s only gothic horror film.

The Virgin Spring (1960)

The Virgin Spring (Swedish: Jungfrukällan) is a 1960 Swedish drama film directed by Ingmar Bergman. Set in medieval Sweden, it is a revenge tale about a father””s merciless response to the rape and murder of his young daughter. The story was adapted by screenwriter Ulla Isaksson from a 13th century Swedish ballad, “Töres döttrar i […]

The Seventh Seal (1957)

Movie: The Seventh Seal (1957) “A Knight and his squire are home from the crusades. Black Death is sweeping their country. As they approach home, Death appears to the knight and tells him it is his time. The knight challenges Death to a chess game for his life. The Knight and Death play as the […]

Switch to our mobile site